2024 Film Independent Spirit Awards: Past Lives, Anatomy of a Fall, and A Thousand and One Bring Home Big Awards

Credit the sun for bringing together some of the industry’s most fierce voices in independent cinema on Sunday afternoon in Santa Monica, California for the 2024 Film Independent Spirit Awards. Under one giant tent, the award show took place, celebrating the year of movies and their respective creators.

The Sundance film festival feature ‘Past Lives’ had a big night. It took home the award for Best Feature and Celine Song won the Best Director award for the film. A.V. Rockwell’s ‘A Thousand and One’ took home the Best First Feature award. 

The Holdovers Collected Three Independent Spirit Awards

Alexander Payne’s ‘The Holdovers‘ came away with the most awards of the night with three awards and the actors performances shined with Da’Vine Joy Randolph winning the award for Best Supporting Performance and Dominic Sessa capturing the award for Best Breakthrough Performance. And the third award for ‘The Holdovers’ was to Eigil Bryld for Best Cinematography.

A handful of the winners had World Premiere at the 2023 Cannes Film Festival. Palme d’Or winner Justine Triet’s Anatomy of a Fall brought home the Film Independent Spirit Award for Best International Film. The Best First Screenplay award went to May December written by Samy Birch with story by Samy Birch and Alex Mechanik. While Four Daughters won Best Documentary at the Independent Spirit Awards. Worth the mention is both Four Daughters and Anatomy of a Fall recently won César Awards.

Jeffrey Wright’s Speech is as Witty as it is Sincere

Possibly the best speech of the day was from American Fiction Actor Jeffrey Wright who won the Best Actor award and spoke of the early days of attracting financing for American Fiction. “The reason why our film was independent from the start is because no one wanted to finance it.” stated Jeffrey Wright before delivering his appreciation for the producers and partners that eventually supported the project. Also a winner for the evening was the writer/director of American Fiction, Cord Jefferson. He received the Best Screenplay award.

And finally worth noting is Daniel Garber winning Best Editing for ‘How to Blow Up a Pipeline’.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top